Education of young people is highly prioritized in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write or read is even more important and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that it is more important to prioritize the education of adults with low education over the education of young people and that the government should invest more money in this area. In my opinion, while the government should assist uneducated adults, it should not be a priority, particularly over educating young people. On the one hand, the progress of a country or nation depends on the education of the next generation. In other words, young people are particularly important to the development of the country, and the thoughts of contemporary young people will affect the direction of the country in the next 20 to 30 years. For example, Liang Qichao, the leader of the Reform Movement of 1898 in the late Qing Dynasty, once said, "A strong youth makes a country strong." During the signing of the Treaty of Versailles after the First World War, Germany, the defeated country, handed over Shandong, which should belong to China, to Japan. This led to the outbreak of the May 4th Movement in China, and the main force of the demonstrations were young students. These two examples fully illustrate that the education of young people will affect the future development of the country. Adults, on the other hand, are also a part of the state. Their role is to pass on experience in different areas of knowledge to younger generations. It is their responsibility to ensure a peaceful transition from the older generation to the younger generation. Additionally, the proportion of young people in each country is significantly greater than the proportion of illiterate adults. If the focus of education is changed to educating adults who cannot read and write, it may change the country's economy and destiny. All in all, although adults play a pivotal role in society, it does not make sense to spend a lot of money on them. However, equal action for children is justified because of their potential to change the fortunes of nations. So, I still strongly disagree with this statement.