It is said that governments should encourage people to use only public transportation to travel because of many problems caused by private cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that governments should encourage people to use public transportation to travel because of many problems caused by private cars. Personally, I completely agree with this view and will outline the reasons in this essay. There are many reasons why governments should encourage people to use only public transportation to travel. First, this will be an ideal solution for citizens’ concerns in urban areas around the world such as rising fuel costs, environmental problems, and especially busy roads. The population in cities tends to increase over the years so urban infrastructure is the same. The number of cars which is owned by the citizens also rises to meet their commuting demands. Therefore, this leads to traffic jams, especially during some “peak hours”. Hence, the fewer private cars on the streets, the less busy the streets are. Second, private vehicles cause air pollution. The gas emissions from these transport can affect people ’s health severely. So using public transportation is an effective solution. Another reason that can be taken into account is that travels by bus services or railway systems not only reduce the number of vehicles on the roads but also improve people ’s physical health as commuters have to walk a certain distance to reach bus or train stations.Using public transportation can improve people ’s mental health because people can relax by listening to music or reading books while travelling by bus or train. In conclusion, for the reasons I have noticed above, I strongly agree with the view that governments should encourage people to use only public transportation to travel because of many problems caused by private cars.