Some employers involve employees in the decision-making process of products and services. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

These days, the phenomenon of decision-making and its corresponding impact are increasingly becoming a debatable theme in many companies. Although employers have a right to set a rule and require their employees to abide by it, there are still both merits and demerits when bosses give their staff a chance to make decisions. Therefore, this essay will elaborate upon both sides, as follows. To commence with, one of the primary advantages of employees offering a decision is generating creative ideas. To further explain, in spite of the fact that a number of employees might have different points of view, bouncing their ideas off fosters workers to come up with novel campaigns. As a result, this can help the construction of self-confidence in problem-solving. According to a recent study conducted by an American institute, the efficiency of an office worker can be boosted significantly when their contribution to a project is recognized. On the other hand, there is another detrimental effect on the profits of a company if the decision goes wrong. Owing to the diversity of opinions that can lead a firm to fall behind, a typical example here is a Vietnamese firm which often opened workshops for their staff for the sake of accumulating their opinions. Having said that, the company's leader did not carefully weigh up them, bringing about a huge loss. Therefore, this circumstance has given a clear message to all executors and managers about taking any employee's opinion into thoughtful consideration before further actions. In conclusion, giving some staff' the right to make decisions is not a big deal due to the promotion of their creative thoughts, but the firm leaders and entrepreneurs should tactfully take these ideas into account.