Globalisation has highlighted the need for international communication. It is often argued that English should be compulsory subject for all school children around the world. Others argue that this would do more harm than good. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Interdependency among nations is on the rise, whether be it for goods and services, or for human resources. While some, including myself, suggest that English in schools should be made mandatory worldwide, others, mainly advocates of culture preservation strongly disagree. In this essay, I will examine both viewpoints and give my judgement. With globalisation, there is fear among a few nationalists that the introduction of English as one of the languages in school will have a negative impact on society. As they are convinced, it will threaten, and gradually vanish their local language from existence. In India, English is the most spoken language, because it was made obligatory in schools during the British Empire colonisation. As a result, rather than learning their traditional languages, such as Hindi, Tamil, Malayalam, etc., people prioritised learning English for better job opportunities. Thus, eventually, this will have a profound effect on generations to come. On the other hand, uniting the world by making English an international language and teaching it to young pupils will have numerous benefits. To begin, it will ease the communication between the locals and the international people living in a country. Students who go abroad for university find it hard to blend in with the locals primarily due to the language barrier. This further adds to the inconvenience of living in a foreign city. In Europe, for instance, every country has its own national language, and English subject is only introduced in the curriculum after school, which makes it hard for the citizens to grasp a new language. Therefore, I am a proponent of teaching English at an early age so that grown-up citizens will have an international language, and thereby, a more diversified society. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, although there is a risk of losing the value of authentic languages, teaching young minds a language that is spoken internationally is far more beneficial and necessary.