Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, experiments on animals are used as a means of testing the safety of new medicines, and this issue sparks a debate about morality and ethics in society. While many people argue that they should be prohibited because these tests are morally wrong, others support the existence of such a matter due to the benefits it brings to humanity. The following essay is going to discuss both views and strengthen my support for the latter. The reason that many individuals state that animal experiments are morally wrong is that humans are conducting tests on sentient species. To put it in simple terms, scientists used to conduct research about the effects of new drugs and vaccines on hamsters and apes, due to the resemblances in their genes with that of humans. However, these species are capable of feeling just like people, and in the case of apes, it is obvious that they are aware of social constructs, as well as having feelings such as being greedy or harbouring hatred. Thus, many individuals believe that by subjecting these species to tests and research, we are going against their wills, as well as moral values. Conversely, there are inherent risks of launching a new medicine without having it tested, namely having side effects. This is because even though medicines are created to help our immune system fight off diseases and illnesses, they could bring about undesired results when contacting other chemicals inside our bodies. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, vaccines from Pfizer could help produce antibodies against the virus but also leave side effects to patient’s lungs such as potentially increasing the chance of having asthma and permanently decreasing their stamina. Hence, testing new drugs and other products on animals could minimize the risks for humans, as researchers could have a better understanding of how the products react with our bodies and immediately work on adjusting the formulas. In conclusion, I believe animal trials are crucial for the development of our civilization, as they could mitigate negative consequences, even though many individuals may claim that these trials are ethically wrong