Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam" How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people form using their cars?

For the past 30 years, the number of purchased automobiles has raised significantly and has created many traffic issues around the globe. However, these issues are not well anticipated by the government, especially in several developing countries, such as Indonesia. Thus, this essay will explain some possibilities of how the rising car ownership has become a huge congestion problem, and some solutions from a public policy viewpoint to deal with it. The gradual rising in the total number of cars on the street is incomparable to the linear addition of the length and the width of the road. For instance, in Jakarta (the capital city of Indonesia), the space for automotive has not been built up significantly in 20 years and has created many bottlenecking areas in the city. The possible cause of this contrasting issue is: it will take so much money and time to build the infrastructure needed. On the other hand, it is wiser if the authority gives more resources and budget to human-oriented policies rather than car-oriented policies. These kinds of policies have been successfully applied in many well-developed countries. From the downstream, the government should provide many forms of public transportation (rail-based and buses), creates transit-oriented development areas, and builds pedestrian. And from the upstream side, the rule could increase the car-ownerships tax progressively. In conclusion, I have heard some experts say that the progress of the country is not seen from the increasing number of poor people who can afford to own cars, but from the rich who are willing to use public transportation.