In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is noticeable, that in some states around the world people ’s lives becomes longer, and as a result, the rate of older people is considerably increasing. Some people are afraid of problems that it may lead to, whereas others suggest a positive impact that it may bring. On the one hand, age discrimination has always been the most argued topic in any discussion and public issue at the same time. Instead of struggling with the ageing population, people should appreciate them and try to help old people adopting to contemporary reality. The ageing people are the same people as others, so they have the same rights and responsibilities as they can work not worse than young people and be a valuable part of society. For instance, nowadays more and more model agencies offer old people to participate in different campaigns and photoshoots as they accept and respect them. Additionally, it is definitely an effective way to represent old people in society. If someone’s grandparents see this, they become inspired and would not be afraid to try themself in different new roles and ways. On the other hand, in some cases, ageing people's prevalence may lead to certain problems. First of all, the main effect of it is overpopulation. Every day, women deliver a newborn and the number of people on this planet is rapidly growing. Therefore, more people means less space, and most developed countries, such as Singapore are struggling with this problem by constructing tall buildings. It is happening so fast, at a certain moment people will be forced to decide who is more useful for society: the older or younger generation. In these conditions, old people are undoubtedly loose, because most of them are dysfunctional and even can not care about themselves. Moreover, almost all old people have trouble with studying new things which is a critical skill in current days. Consequently, in future, for avoiding overpopulation issues, society will have to expand the space where they live by exploring a new planet or building special satellites for life. In conclusion, of course, everyone’s life matters and society ought to respect and care about the older generation because, at certain times, it helps the current generation grow up. In other words, this part of society is not worse than others and sometimes has superiority in some things. Nevertheless, the younger generation and, especially, the government must take care of people ’s future and create some solutions to make future life more comfortable and peaceful.