Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, while a school of thought that universities are regarded as places which are suitable for young students with the highest marks only, others are of the opinion that tertiary education should be made available for people of all ages although they do not perform well. In this essay, I am going to elucidate both viewpoints, before clarifying my own opinion. To begin with, there are some who believe that governments should encourage people to go to school because education is considered the fundamental right of everyone. In fact, there will be several benefits of this trend if people pursue their own dream, regardless of their age and learning capacity, especially in an achievement-driven society like VN To illustrate, broadening their horizon and standing a higher chance of landing a well-paid job are regarded as positive examples. Another driving factor is that pupils’ academic record at middle and high school is unable to provide us with sufficient information about their scholarly competence. Therefore, students in this day and age are likely to have a wide range of classes in selecting the best as well as the most suitable majors for their abilities at universities instead of studying only core subjects as they used to learn in high school. Despite the aforementioned benefits, I would opine those concerns regarding limiting learners to universities seem more justifiable. Firstly, students who have good academic results are more likely to adapt to the academic environment at universities where all students had readily cultivated essential soft skills at high schools such as critical thinking, time management or problem-solving skills. Furthermore, these skills help students not only to handle the immense workload, but also reduce their pressure at universities. In addition, no sooner do governments offer university places to only high-ranking young students than this appropriate policy will bring long-term effects on economic growth and other fields. Rather than taking risks of training students of mixed abilities, this trend highly prioritizes creating a more favourable learning environment with modern facilities and high – qualified professions. As a result, future high-skilled labour resources are being created. In conclusion, while there is no denying that encouraging all people to study at universities offers substantial benefits, I am of the opinion that it will be imprudent to discount the importance of limiting higher education to young potential students. 16:55 Đã gửi