Many governments invest a great deal of money in space research. What are the advantages and potential disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

In the 21st century, exploring space is considered one of the most trending businesses among well-known entrepreneurs. For that reason, many governments would like to stay ahead of the curve by spending large amounts of funds on space experimentation. However, there are considerable merits and demerits behind investing a great amount of money in rocket science. In the following paragraphs, I will explain how the advantages outweigh the disadvantages with examples. To begin with, one of the best advantages is plenty of students can explore new opportunities in their careers. Although most universities do not have space research as a subject in their academic curriculum, there are many space investigation centres that hire hundreds of curious students for internships. For instance, ISRO in India hires 1000 new interns every year for their innovations. Another merit to consider is that country could grow exponentially if they do it correctly because successful satellite deployment could not only benefit the country itself with security enhancements but also it could grow employment opportunities in sectors like telecom and broadcasting. In contrast, there are a couple of demerits that should draw our attention. Firstly, authorities spent millions of dollars on this research without knowing their future possibilities. It could give zero results and the entire rocket can be destroyed with a single silly mistake. For example, last year India spent 18000 crores on new satellite equipment that just crashed, and the whole money was wasted. Secondly, by spending a hefty amount on this research, the government does not give enough attention to the areas which are very important for any country's growth, for example, Pakistan spends huge money on aerospace engineering but their economy is struggling with inflation and unemployment. To conclude, a vast number of governments spent countless money to see the possibilities of finding a new living planet, like Mars, and others are unable to attend to the issues which require immediate attention. Still, my take is that spending time and money on space exploration is worth it in the long term and has more pros than cons.