It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is of crucial importance for children to discern wrong from right when they are young. Some may assert that to teach them this difference, punishment offers a precious opportunity. I completely agree with this opinion since this might thwart children from repeating their bad behavior. Only mild punishments, however, are accepted. In order to reinforce children ’s ability to distinguish wrong from right, it would be a necessity for parents, when needed, to punish their children. More precisely, children would not encounter their misbehaviors’ consequences if there were not any penalties, and therefore, these bad behaviors might be perpetuated. Hence, they do not misbehave again since they know that they have to accept the consequences. Severe punishments, on the other hand, might result in more wrong attitudes; therefore, it is always recommended to use mild punishments as well as educate children. In other words, a great majority of children, especially teenagers, are rebellious, and if they were punished severely, they would continue to act wrongly instead of learning their lesson. By way of example, it has been revealed by many conducted surveys that we can find the invisible hand of punishment in the reason behind some crimes. Thus, instead of cruel punishment, age-appropriated ones or asking them to do household chores would be more advantageous. In conclusion, although I firmly agree that to cultivate moral values in children, punishment is a necessity, the sort of penalty should be controlled and curbed to just appropriate ones; otherwise, not only does it not lead to what parents want, but also might induce wrong attitudes to be perpetrated again.