Some people believe it is better to study subjects that have practical applications. Others, however, think it is better to study subjects that are theoretical. Discuss both views.

Education plays an important role in shaping our lives and provides us with an abundance of knowledge. Whether to study subjects that teach us practical skills or to study theory-based subjects is a personal choice, however, in my opinion, I am of the fierce belief that learning a subject that has practical applications is far more necessary than learning just theoretical ones. In this essay, I will elucidate both viewpoints. Theoretical insight is imperative for two main reasons. To begin, thousands of books on literature are available to teach us the meaning of life. Abstract theory helps us to broaden our horizons and live a meaningful and happy life. Another compelling reason would be to become a writer. People who have a keen interest in writing should focus more on improving their theoretical proficiency as it would help them in their future careers. Many established authors, like Chetan Bhagat, Shakespeare, and John Ray, were great students who were passionate about excelling in theory-based courses of study. On the contrary, others, like me, are in favour of gaining practical ability because it can be applied in real life. For instance, learning how to construct a boat, how to give CPR, or how to swim comes from the practicality of subjects like Physics, Emergency Medicine, and Sports. Furthermore, if everyone chose theory-based classes in schools and universities, there would be no new inventions. For instance, the invention of aeroplanes is a great example of the indispensable skills we learn from joining classes that have feasible implementations. To conclude the aforementioned discussion, while courses based on theory are necessary to teach important life skills, and to become excellent writers, one cannot deny the daily usefulness of subjects that train us practical skills and how much more beneficial it is to us.