Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are thaught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, competition versus cooperation among children has been an intriguing topic. Some people say that competition is good for children while others are saying cooperation will be more useful for them in the future. In my opinion, competition should always be encouraged. On the one hand, teaching the sense of competition to children is greatly beneficial. Firstly, it will always give them something to look forward to. For instance, a child in school will always do his best if he knows that he is on the honours list. This will encourage him to study harder in order to defeat his classmates and become the top 1. Secondly, children will learn sportsmanship. They will understand that in every competition there will always be a winner and a loser and they just need to face it with dignity. In my own experience when I was still competing in swimming, I understand how the sports work. There are times that I will be on top and other times I will not have anything. I learned how to accept defeat and be happy for the winner. On the other hand, inculcating a sense of cooperation in children is also important. They will know the word unity. Kids will be able to work hand-in-hand with others. To illustrate, children are assigned group projects to enhance their cooperation by listening and suggesting in order to contribute and come up with a good result. In this way, they will be able to use it when they start their own jobs. To recapitulate, encouraging children a sense of competition and cooperation is very vital for their growth. This will be beneficial to them when they get out into the real world. But, learning thru competition brings more advantages rather than learning thru cooperation.