Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial backgorund they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that university education should be accessible to every child and should be made free for them by the governments, despite their economic conditions. I partially agree with this statement because making the studies free of cost can encourage less-income parents to send their kids to schools, however, it should be charged to the rich as it is a good source of taxes for the government. As poor people cannot afford education, they hesitate to send their children to schools, which has caused a significant increase in the illiteracy rate in the country. For instance, if we consider rural areas in India, the literacy rate has dropped to 50%. Providing schooling without any charges can aid in increasing the knowledge level of their children which can result in the improvement of the financial conditions of their families. But, not charging rich people, who can actually pay for their studies, will impact the budget of the government significantly. Moreover, it will reduce the incoming cash flow which they usually receive in the form of taxes from the private institutions. For example, last year, the Indian Government received 15% of its revenue from the taxes collected from high school colleges which have been used to provide scholarships to the needy. Charging the rich and providing services for the poor can result in a healthy balance in the cash flow. Meanwhile, the extra money, if left, can be used to enhance the infrastructure for the students from both categories. To conclude, though many people support that everyone should get a free education, I think it is better to charge students whose parents are financially good and use this money to provide free learning support to the poor and utilize the remaining money to give better infrastructure to both.