Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, while others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some folks argue that the state should not sponsor the cultural activities, because many other areas need government funding, whereas, many are of the notion that funding these festivals may be helpful. This essay will discuss both views and give my opinion that the executive's sponsorship is necessary for promoting traditional values and also for psychological well being of the society. On the one hand,those against the financial support of the state argue that there are more pressing issues for the authorities to pay attention to. Firstly, many under-developed nations do not have enough supplies to feed their people.If a poor country diverts the resources towards art related events, then a common man will die of hunger due to food shortage. Secondly, the basic education and health are the two key areas requiring a major share from the budget.If the individuals are healthy and have bare minimum qualification, only then they will be able to enjoy the literary activities. For example, in Pakistan, only half of the population is literate, the remaining half looking towards the national assembly for educational grant for them to obtain primary qualification. On the other hand, a large fraction of population opine that the funds for cultural functions should be provided by the state as it helps in propagating the national art.By contributing a small amount of money, a country can preserve its heritage. For instance, many dramas and theatres of Pakistan are popular in the world due to state ownership of the national TV running these shows. In addition, these programs are a source of mental relaxation for the populace. This means that if people get a chance to listen to traditional music after hectic work routine, they will retain a good mental health.To exemplify, whenever, I feel tired after long working hours, I listen to the local music channel that helps me recoup my energy. In conclusion, although many sectors require priority funding from the government exchequer, I believe that some of funds should be allocated to art and culture for the sake of preserving national traditions and for uplift of the mental health of the masses.