The arts, including art, music and theatre are considered to be important in the society. Do you think the arts still have a place amongst our modern lifestyle? Should the arts be included in the school curriculum?

For a long time, from early civilizations to today's modern society, the arts have always played essential roles in strengthening social cohesion, shaping culture, and voicing the aspirations of the public. Therefore, any form of art will always become a central part of modern life. However, I prefer to let kids have options about whether or not they want to learn the arts in school rather than forcing them as part of mandatory classes in the curriculum. While people may argue that the arts ' contribution to our modern civilizations is merely in relation to the show business industry, I believe that the arts become an effective weapon to voice activism that eventually leads to social cohesion. For example, when two British teenagers made disturbing art to show the public how dangerous the climate crisis was, it sparked wider activism from people across the world. They urged governments and business leaders to execute serious plans for combating the climate crisis. On the other hand, admitting the crucial functions of the arts in a modern lifestyle does not mean that they are necessary to be included in the school's curriculum. The primary function of formal education is to shape critical thinking and a scientific mindset, which cannot be achieved through the arts. For instance, students are trained to criticize with the knowledge they get from math or physics classes. Unfortunately, the same approach is not applicable in art classes since students are expected to merely produce art products. To sum up, I believe that modern society is shaped in many ways by the arts, but I disagree with their inclusion in the curriculum in schools.