Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Over the last decade, there is a tremendous rise in salaries earned by celebrities. When compared to political leaders, it is significantly higher, thus, a matter of serious debate. In this essay, I will outline why is this the case and elucidate its negative outcomes. Two key factors that contribute to the substantially high income of celebrities are the sources of money generation and the collaboration with brands. Popularity leads to high demand and hence, hefty pay in the entertainment industry. Since actors are very famous because of their unique talents and acting abilities, they generate more revenue. The other factor is the collaboration with big brands worldwide, unlike politicians, an entertainer's pay is not restricted to a country, they are able to generate more money by working internationally for famous brands such as Nike, Adidas, etc. If a famous actor accepts the offer to promote a well-known brand, the sales of the brand will shoot and thus, increasing the brand value as well as the actor's charges. There are two main drawbacks to it. If the pay gap is high, the celebrities may feel a sense of entitlement as they are earning from the lawmakers of the country. As a result, they will not value the legal system or abide by all the rules. Moreover, their diverse sources of income may not be transparent to the government as they work in the private sector. Recently, a case of embezzlement was filed against a leading actor, however, due to no record of transaction history, it was dismissed on grounds of lack of evidence. If this continues to rise, the authoritative forces of the nation will lose their power and assertiveness. To conclude the aforementioned discussion, while the difference in salaries is high, it should be transparent.