In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In some nations, an increasing number of people are choosing to reside by themselves nowadays than in previous years. I believe that this trend has both benefits and drawbacks. There are two major disadvantages of this issue. The first drawback is without the daily support from their family, they will feel lonely, isolated, and worried. Another negative is that nobody can help them in some dangerous situations, such as fire, theft, or illness. For example, the elderly can easily get a heart attack or other sudden illness, at that moment, no one can find out to take them to the hospital recently. Despite the negatives mentioned above, it also brings a wide range of benefits. Firstly, it helps them not to depend on their parents as they can pay bills for living costs, manage their budget, take care of themselves, and buy something they want. The last one is creating their own rules and making their own decisions, they can have the freedom of designing their own lives. Some people enjoy living alone to do anything they want, such as staying up late, playing video games without getting scolded by their parents, or maybe they hate being disturbed by children or adults while doing work or studying. In conclusion, in my opinion, this topic also has both beneficial and detrimental effects.