Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that money could be spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view ?

In this day and age, the living standard is developing rapidly, which leads to the increasing human need for entertainment, certainly, art. A group of people believes that the government is squandering money on the arts and that money could be spent on other purposes. From my point of view, l totally agree with this view. The main reason why l support this idea is that art does not play an important role in society. According to a recent survey, the proportion of people who are usually doing art is decreasing fastly. Since the income from doing art is not enough for people to live, gifted people tend to look for other works that may bring them a high salary. Furthermore, money should be spent on serious public problems being extremely necessary for enhancing the economy of the country. For instance, the healthcare system needs more funds than the arts, because having healthy people contributes greatly to having a high budget level. In the second place, the government can use the money to do more meaningful things for the country instead of spending on the arts. Doing charity is one of the most typical examples. Children will have more chances to go to school and the poor will have a stable life if they receive grants from the government. Once the ‘ art fund’ changes to ‘charity fund’, more schools and education centres will be built in order to create studying opportunities for poor students. In conclusion, it is unnecessary to spend money on the arts and that money should be used for other purposes. Therefore, the quality of life will be improved quickly, which leads to the advancement of society.