17.Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, develop countries should give other types of help to poorer countries rather than financial aid. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Wealthier nations are in great efforts to support poorer ones in solving famine by providing them with financial aid. However, it is of the opinion that this type of help does not work well and more effective alternatives are in need. Personally, I am inclined to agree with this notion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that financial support can provide immediate relief in times of crisis, like natural disasters and health emergencies. It can help people save lives and mitigate suffering. For example, locking down during the COVID-19 pandemic has exhausted the global economy, especially in underdeveloped and developing nations. Thus, money received from rich countries can help citizens from poorer ones cover daily expenses such as food, medicine, education and accommodation. Furthermore, in some cases, monetary assistance can be used to build basic infrastructure, including roads, hospitals and schools, contributing to long-term development. However, it is important that poverty is a complex issue that requires more comprehensive solutions. Firstly, it is essential for poorer countries to have quality education. Good schooling can provide individuals with the necessary skills and knowledge for personal growth and their contributions to communities. When children can access education, they can break the cycle of poverty by securing better job opportunities and making informed decisions about health and well-being. As expected by the United Nations, the GDP of poor regions can increase by 70% if all children can access education. Secondly, wealthier countries can transfer advanced technology to poorer ones as a form of support. It is true that the adoption of modern machines in the farming sector can lead to increased agricultural productivity which not only helps nations to ensure domestic food safety but also promotes exporting. This in turn can lead to an increase in overall income. According to a report from the World Bank, crop yields in Southern Asia have increased by 6 times during the last 40 years, contributing to the significant reduction in famine in this area. In conclusion, while financial support can help poorer nations deal with poverty to some extent, I firmly assert that providing them with quality education and modern technology is more effective, helping these countries to overcome impoverishment in the long term