Nowadays we see an increase in social problems involving teenagers.Many people believe that it is because parents spend more time at work and less with their children.Do you agree or disagree?

These days we see an increase in social issues among teens. Most people believe that it is due to parents spending more time at work and less with their children. I agree with this statement. To begin with, spending time with children is essential for parents because, they can teach kids about good values and virtues as to how to differentiate between good and bad for example if there is a ten dollar note lying on the floor and no one is around what would the child do with it all these lessons are taught by parents. Secondly, giving less time to the children would mean the child is spending it elsewhere, for instance, surfing the internet as there is no supervision it is likely that they will be viewing inappropriate content such as watching adult movies or they may be chatting with a stranger. After seeing these movies children might want to experiment and this can lead to teenage pregnancy, HIV, and rape. While talking to an unknown person can be dangerous as they can stalk children or even kidnap them. Thirdly, their academic performance might be affected as a result of being left unsupervised. Children will be least bothered to study and more likely to engage in things that they enjoy such as taking illegal drugs, glue sniffing and smoking which will provide them with feel -good effect. As a result, children are expelled or no longer interested in studies and engage in criminal activities including stealing, smuggling etc. To conclude, there is a rise in criminal activities among teenagers which is because parents don’t spend quality time with them instead more time is devoted to their job as a result kids don’t get useful lessons from parents. There is a lack of supervision therefore teens are free to do whatever they desire and the school performance is also affected.