You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. The government should pay for the course fees for everyone who wants to study at the university. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The cost of education has become an important topic which divides the public opinion. As a matter of fact, there is a bifurcation between those who think that the government should subsidize the students that want to go to universities, and those who think that education shouldn't be free. In this essay I will discuss my perspective on the issue and I will explain why I completely agree with the first statement presented above. First and foremost, I believe that by paying full course fees the government could effectively encourage students to pursue academic studies, especially those who can't afford them. Most of the time, in fact, people are kept from attending universities simply because of their financial situation. I believe that the authorities should be responsible for the payment because education is a fundamental right, therefore everyone should have the same possibilities, regardless of their annual income. In addition to this, by making education free and accessible to everyone, the government makes an investment for the future, since a lot more people would be actually encouraged to study, which means that an important problem, like the scarcity of applicants for jobs that require a degree - such as doctors and engineers - could be potentially solved. However, even though studying is a right, it's not a duty. This means that people could feel as they owe something to the government, simply because the latter is paying for their studies, which can result in an heavy psychological burden. Besides, despite the fact that statistically most of the students that go to universities want to really increase their cultural baggage, there is a number of people that would go to university only because they don't want to work. This can result both in an economic loss for the government, and in a lack of applicants for manual labors, like plumbers or electricians. To conclude, I believe that despite the disadvantages above mentioned the government should pay entirely for those who want to go to universities, since the advantages overshadow the drawbacks.