It is becoming increasingly popular to take a year off between finishing school and going to college. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, a break from studying has become a trend among graduates from secondary school before they start college. While many advantages are in this phenomena, still there are some drawbacks, that might be overlooked at first. In this essay, I will delve deeper into both perspectives. On the one hand, there are numerous merits in these gap years. To begin with, there are those students who start a relative unpaid job as an apprentice in their break time. All skills they are thought in these apprenticeships, especially in vocational majors, accelerate the job-seeking process in their carear life in the future. In addition, there are those who see off years as a vacation break. They plan for traveling or just roam around in their countryside. With the help of these activities, the level of stress and anxiety become significantly decreased, therefore the likelihood of burning out, either in academic or work years, dramatically drops. So there are noticeable advantages in taking off years. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to this trend. Firstly, the rate of dropping further education goes higher. In case students find the high-paid job, they would not be encouraged enough to finish tertiary education. As a result, they might lose their golden years of studying. Secondly, in some majors, like non-vocational majors, memorizing the subject's contents are crucial. In such majors, students who had been on the break might show weaker performance rather than those who study consistently. To recapitulate, while taking off years after secondary school remains controversial, I firmly believe that by overcoming some minor mistakes, which are mentioned above, gap years between two level of schooling would be refreshing for students.