Q. In recent years some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but no in the countryside. What are major cause of this trend, and what should be done?

Recent decades have seen a dramatic improvement in the economy. But, only urban cities have been so quick off the mark, while their counterparts have failed in benefiting from the development. This is serious because such an imbalanced development of the economy can lead to serious threats to the well-balanced progress of a country. Personally, the centralization of varying social benefits into the city areas seems to blame the most. The main reason for this phenomenon is that numerous social advantages may be focused on the urban areas. Since the economy has developed, the government has built a lot of social infrastructures in the cities such as healthcare facilities, education systems, public transportation and many more. This leads the public to move to urban areas from rural areas. This is because if people live in the cities, they might have plenty of social opportunities that can improve their quality of life. For example, when individuals live in urban areas, they can have significant chances to receive healthcare services since famous hospitals are normally located in the cities rather than in the countryside. This tendency has caused the imbalanced development of countries. So, rural areas ' improvements are getting worse, making residents in those areas leave. To tackle this trend, the authorities have to implement policies that can promote balanced development in the countryside as well as in the cities. First, they should prioritize erecting social facilities such as educational institutions, health service centers, cultural amenities and so on. Also, the government could encourage big businesses to invest in rural areas by providing them with incentives. This policy will allow rural areas ’ economies to develop rapidly. Lastly, the authorities could make a campaign related to the advantages of living in the countryside to encourage citizens who are living in the cities to move to rural areas. This might relieve the overpopulation of the urban areas. To sum up, as analysed above, there has been imbalanced development in some countries because of the centralization of diverse social benefits into urban areas. In order to deal with it, the government have to make rural areas more improved by establishing policies.