We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that we should not help people in another region as long as there are problems in our own society. I disagree with this view because I believe that we should try to help as many people as possible. On the one hand, I accept that it is important to help our neighbours and fellow citizens. In most,communities there is the public who are impoverished or disadvantaged in some way. It is possible to find homeless public, for example, in even the wealthiest of cities, and for those who are concerned about this problem, there are usually opportunities to volunteer time or give money to support these nations. In the UK, folk can help in a variety of ways, from donating clothing to serving free food in a soup kitchen. As the problems are on our doorstep, and there are obvious ways to help, I can understand why some feel that we should prioritise local charity. At the same time, I believe that we have an obligation to help those who live beyond our national borders. In some,countries the problems that the crowd are much more serious than those in our own communities, and it is often even easier to help. For example, when children are dying from curable diseases in the African public, governments and individuals in the richer communities can save lives simply by paying for vaccines that already exist. A small donation to an international charity might have a much greater impact than helping in our local area. In conclusion, it is true that we cannot help everyone, but in my,opinion national boundaries should not stop us from helping those who are in need.