Some people feel that high school students should only learn literature from their own country, while others feel that they should be exposed to literature from around the world. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Learning literature according to some people should only be confined to the students from higher secondary level however, some express a completely different opinion like the literature as a whole should be opened to the students. I personally believe that in the case of learning, literature there should not be any barrier. First of all, the knowledge of literature delineates the reality of society and people to the readers as well as students. Therefore, if high school students only explore literature from their associated culture and language, their realm of knowledge would only be confined to that. Although literature from someone's own country might help to gather knowledge about his history and culture, ultimately the actual scenario of the whole world and society remains unknown and unseen to him. As the goal of literature is to enhance knowledge and understanding, that focus can not be achieved by learning literature from own country. On the other hand, if higher secondary students get the opportunity to explore literature from all over the world, that would help them compare how societies and people have experienced from culture to culture. Furthermore, the opportunities of learning about authors and poets from all over the world would be the greatest way to have the concept of world literature. To add to it, those who have a personal interest in literature could follow the path of those poet laureates and become writers or poets. Students for example, who are more involved in world literature could become fascinated with them and follow their path. To conclude, literature from one country always focus on a specific society and people but only world literature provides a realistic picture in a broader sense. Students from high school should learn about world literature which is appropriate for them.