‘For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.’ How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

There is a suggestion that musical skills should be as important as reading and writing skills for kids. In my opinion, kids should learn musical skills for entertainment, not reading and writing skills. Hence, reading and writing skills are more important than musical skills because if a kid doesn't know how to read and write, they can’t play musical instruments either. Firstly, reading and writing skills are paramount for all kids but not musical skills. Not every child can play musical instruments and enjoy them. There are minor children or we can call prodigies who can play musical instruments very soon. However, all the prodigies or normal children know reading and writing before they can play musical instruments because their parents ensure their kids have to know literacy. Secondly, there is a lot of important academic information that people need to know how to read and write. The children cannot read music sheets if they know how to read. All of these reasons can prove that the ability to read and write is more important than the ability to play musical instruments. Of course, the ability to play music is important for talented kids. However, other kids don’t need to have that ability. For those kids who don't have enough ability to play musical instruments, they must have the right to choose what they want to learn. To illustrate this point, some kids have an ability in sciences, some are in art. So we can’t force them to learn what they don’t like. We just need to teach them where it is bad and good. In conclusion, children can play musical instruments but for fun not like reading and writing because they are life skills. I quietly agree that the ability to play musical instruments is important but for the prodigies, not every child.