In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, human life expectancy has increased leading to an ageing population. It is believed that this puts an enormous burden on governments whereas others argue that it also generates advantages. While it is beneficial to have a large number of old people, I contend that it is more likely to have a harmful impact. On the one hand, advocates of the ageing population assert that seniors would have more experience than the young since they have been living for a longer time. Hence, they can give some useful advice that may help them to succeed in the future. Furthermore, elderly people can also provide childcare for their grandchildren so that adults would not need to use babysitting services. As a result, this can help them to save a great deal of money. On the other hand, I still hold the view that having a more aged population can exert many deleterious effects. Firstly, old people are more vulnerable to chronic diseases. Therefore, their offspring would have to pay huge healthcare expenses as well as devote more time and effort to be around them. Consequently, they have to suffer from great pressure, causing many mental problems. In addition, more people exceeding the working age means that governments are supposed to pay more pensions to them. This would eventually exhaust governmental resources and also result in insufficient money allocated to other crucial sectors in the nation. In conclusion, it is true that a country having many aged people can bring several positive influences, however, it seems to me that they are far more prevailed by the drawbacks owing to huge financial demand made on adults and governments.