In the past employees worked for small businesses but now many are working for large businesses. What are the advantages and dis advantages of this trend ?

It is thought by some that people in the past tended to apply for small companies instead of going to large businesses. In this essay, both advantages and disadvantages will be outlined before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that individuals in the past were more hard-working, relentless and industrious than people in these years because they believed that hard work could help them further their career paths. The population decide to work in small organisations, which have a small number of employees, because these companies give them tremendous experience as they have an opportunity to do numerous tasks. For instance, a man, who applies for a structural engineering position, does not only do the calculation part, additionally, he needs to perform other tasks such as drawing, inspecting and supervising at construction sites due to the lack of manpower. However, he still feels delighted and content with these tasks as he will gain more experience and use them to further their future. On the other hand, there are several small companies that have bad organisation. Therefore, employees who work in these offices might encounter problems such as poor work -life balance since they need to spend more than regular working hours to work and clock up overtime to meet a deadline. For example, normal working hours total 8 hours long, conversely, these people need to work up to 10-12 hours in order to finish their assignments. Moreover, not only working all day affects mental health badly, but it also causes health issues, namely obesity in order that employees need to sit at desks all the time. Overall, there are many reasons why the population in the past chose to apply for small businesses. Although citizens might approach a poor work -life balance and health issues during working, it gives many benefits to employees such as experience to further their future.