In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the country side is decreasing Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In some parts of the world, countries have been observing a higher number of citizens relocating from rural areas to cities leading to reduced population in their peripheral areas. Seen from an economic and social aspect, I believe this is a positive trend as cities generally provide more opportunities in terms of jobs and social life. Firstly, the main benefit of living in a city instead of a village is the variety of options in the job market. In rural regions, humans mostly live scattered over a large area of land, which limits the likeliness of getting hired as the travelling distance may make the job unprofitable. This issue can also occur in the cities but with significantly less frequency. Another challenge in rural communities in comparison to cities is the probability of publishing a position is quite small, as the employers may give the job to one of their immediate family such as their own children and siblings, without any competition requirement of qualifications. Furthermore, maintaining an active social life is another major advantage of moving to cities. Health professionals have stated that a lack of human interactions is one of the main causes of depression and anxiety. Living in the countryside with few to zero social connections outside work and schools can be seen as a great risk of developing mental health issues, therefore cities can give their citizens a chance to meet new people, simply by joining different hobby groups such as music, books or knitting. In conclusion, in my opinion, residing in cities comes with far greater advantages than living in rural areas, such as an increased chance of landing suitable employment and an easier way of making human connections.