Some parents believe that a child should not waste time by reading entertainment books, instead, they should spend time reading educational books only. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that children need to focus on academic readings rather than novels. This essay will discuss reasons why I strongly disagree with the statement. It is understandable why most families encourage their children to study school texts. One reason is that they want their young ones to improve their grade scores after sitting for exams. To illustrate, parents with children in exam rooms force their children to only read the teacher's notes with hopes for them to pass. They believe enjoying the story can not improve their results but only distract them. For this reason, students are only allowed to read science or mathematics textbooks. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that reading any kind of text improves children's ability to grasp information and retain it. Those engaging in different examinations have high chances of improving their memory which is useful during test conditions. For example, reviewing a Marvel book can help the student to enjoy studying and remembering the information. Reading various sources of information also promotes the children's vocabulary. For instance, after scanning the latest story, they grasp new words that could be used in their English subject. Although it is true that most time should be spent on educational studies, it is important for children to be exposed to other articles. In conclusion, parents wish for their children to have the best scores in their academic studies. That is the reason they believe that children should only peruse school literature. However, scanning other books have more benefits than the latter.