“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree.

Many believe that preventing diseases is more important that research and treatment because that is less costly. In my opinion, investments in preventive measures should have a greater emphasis because this will give a better public health and it is cheaper for both the individual and public. In general, when a person is healthy, he or she is able to have a better quality of life. More specific, the person is able to function better at home with family, will function better at work, and in the broader society. Consequently, increasing the person is benefitting and the public. Even though there is a treatment for an illness, when it strikes, all three domains will be affected. Namely, the family have increased expense of medicine and less social interaction. In addition, companies have a lost employee. Treating diseases is a costly affair for individuals and the public. In many cases, simple everyday measures such as training, reducing alcohol and quit smoking will impact health, reducing the expenses related to cardiac, transplantation and cancer treatment respectively. For example, in a recent study, researches found out that a third of morbidity and mortality in Norway is preventable with lifestyle changes. Although research is also important, expenses in this regard outweighs the effects a preventive approach have. In conclusion, there are simple and cheap methods for health gain that should be invested in. Despite the importance in research and treatment, preventing diseases results in better quality of life for individuals and reduce public expenses on the health budget.