In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

In several nations, there is a perspective from residents that teenagers who have graduated from high school should take on some activities, like working or travelling, for a year before they continue their education at university. Regarding this issue, I would like to discuss how this action will provide both benefits and drawbacks for young individuals. On the one side, doing some work or travel may drive some beneficial things for teenagers related to exploring their interests and upgrading their skills. Initially, by working in some sectors, young people can explore their interest in a particular subject and it will help them to choose what subject they want to study on campus. To illustrate, doing vocational work in the construction sector will introduce as well as increase the interest of young men in civil engineering. In addition, having some travelling activities can give teenagers vast experiences to improve their skills, like a foreign language. For example, visiting another country like Singapore will able to increase their confidence and ability to speak another language like English. From another perspective, besides providing many advantages, delaying study also will encourage some disadvantages for young humans. In our society, there are fewer kinds of jobs that can be done for non-skill people. In detail, high school fresh graduates obviously have not had any proper skills yet to do a particular job and regarding this situation, employers will not consider them to join in their places or probably will accept them to do a non-skill job with a low salary, such as a cleaning service staff. Furthermore, travelling to numerous places requires a huge amount of money, whereas young people still acquire money from their parents. To do these activities, people will expend money to pay for transportation as well as accommodation. To summarize, for young individuals who do some work or travels for a moment before continuing further education will provide some benefits including upgrading their interest and skills as well, however, some drawbacks may also need to be concerned before student choose to do those activities.