Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development ? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Using cellular phones hours a day among some children has either advantages or disadvantages. I do agree that it contributes to drawbacks instead of benefits. Due to the technology era it is inevitable that children tend to use their mobile phones a lot more than in the past. Allocating time usage in order to limit the drawbacks of the radiation in their eyes could be a wise way without confiscating children ’s rights. On the other hand, the reason why children seem to use their cell phones much more is because of the necessity to fulfil their responsibility as a student, for example, to be literate to support their sources regarding their homework. Interestingly, the trustworthy sources in the search engine are from journals, scientific research, etc which mostly are not using their own mother tongue. It may strive students to master their English skills. Apart from that, using smartphones shows the tendency for children to lack less focus in terms of studying because in the meantime of studying, they use their cellphones not only for educational purposes but also for pampering themself, for instance, surfing on social media or other platforms. This thing happens, because of the addictive effect of mobile phones which are supported with tons of applications on it. As it so, students might be less sociable with their surroundings either with classmates or with teachers, and other parties in the school. In addition, the effectiveness of using smartphones regarding their study intention may lead to missed interpretation. All in all, I do believe that using mobile phones on a regular basis among children appears to show their drawbacks more instead of the benefit.