Social media such as Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram has replaced face to face communication in our everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages.

Nowadays, the way people communicate with each other has changed quite significantly. People spend more time on social media to communicate with their peers rather than having actual face-to-face contact. While there are both advantages and disadvantages to this topic, I believe that the positive aspects take precedence over the negative aspects. The advanced technology in communication and media allows us to stay in touch with anyone in the world. For,example we could easily share the news on our newborn baby with a friend living in another country with just a click on our Instagram account. Also, we are able to share important news such as funerals or accidents to many communities faster than ever before. In addition, chatting on social media like Facebook or Twitter may be more interesting as we can add various funny emoticons. However, overusing social media as the primary communication means may cause a few negative impacts. First of all, people may lose their social skills which could lead to the feeling of loneliness. Studies have revealed that many social media users have suffered from loneliness. Further, younger people could share sensitive or personal information on social media that could pose a threat to their lives. Despite this, these issues can be effectively addressed through consistent monitoring from the parents. Parents should always monitor their children while using social media. As adults, we should participate in social events or engage in recreational activities with our friends or coworkers occasionally. In conclusion, the increasing popularity of social media for communication and networking has both positive and negative aspects. However, I personally believe that the upsides outweigh the drawbacks as we can stay in touch with any friend without being limited by time or place.