Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is commonly seen that kids take more time on their mobile phones, and while some people argue that this behaviour could have some benefits for kids, I firmly believe that it is harmful to the young generation and that they should limit their time on cell phones. In further paraphrases, the main causes of this phenomenon and my personal opinions will be highlighted. There are two main reasons causing the young are addicted to phones. Firstly, gaming is a virtual world where they can become whomever they want, which can not only offer them excitement but also fulfil their imagination. Secondly, emotional connection is an essential need for kids, using smartphones can allow them to communicate and share interesting things anytime and anywhere, such as through phone calls, social media and communication applications, resulting in addiction to smartphones. In my opinion, it is clear that using smartphones is a significantly negative development for children. This hobby harms the young generation both mentally and physically. For instance, sitting and staring at the monitors for too long a time, making young people suffer from some diseases. According to a recent survey in my country, over 90% of elementary school students have been diagnosed with eye illness. Furthermore, the comparisons between peers have become the competition in their daily lives, leading to massively psychological pressure for teenagers and resulting in some severe mental disorders, such as anxiety disorder, depression and bipolar disorder, which has become one of the biggest modern issues. From my experience, when I saw friends posting their luxurious lives on social media, I felt nervous and doubted myself. In conclusion, due to the sense of fulfilment from mobile games and the need for connection, smartphones give children happiness but harm them as well.Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.