Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Due to the overcrowding of the planet, the amount of trash that is being produced is alarming. The government is unable to cope with the tons of rubbish effectively and sustainably. In this essay, I will outline the reason for it and discuss how governments can help ameliorate this concerning situation. The primary factor for the generation of garbage in such a hefty amount is immense population density. With more and more people occupying the space and land, it is obvious that they will produce more junk. India, the country with the highest population, for instance, produces tons of waste that are dumped in massive landfills which are on the outskirts of the cities. If the population continues to soar, we will have to deal with an unimaginable amount of waste products. Moreover, we may eventually run out of empty areas to dispose of the waste for degradation. Immediate action by the government is imperative to strike a balance between the garbage produced and the garbage degraded or recycled. To begin, comprehensive strategies should be adopted with the help of scientists to recycle salvageable waste products efficiently. A good example is Singapore, where it is mandatory to put the trash according to their recyclable categories so it can be reused in the future after thorough processing. Another initiative involves reducing the bulk of rubbish produced. In Germany, it is the moral obligation of citizens to take their own bag for shopping, or their own cup for getting a coffee. As a result, this method has significantly reduced waste levels by dwindling the number of one-time-use products. To conclude, the extent of rubbish produced is directly proportional to the population density. However, efficient recycling methods and lowering individual waste products can significantly reduce our negative impact on the environment.