By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder.Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers.

Some folks believe that the killers should be given life imprisonment rather than a death sentence to avoid further murders in society.I tend to disagree with this statement because of the fact that strict decisions are needed to purify society from criminals.There are various reasons for this argument. First of all, many people who are jailed on the charges of murder get away with the penalty by using their influence. This is true in countries with weak judicial systems. For instance, when a landlord's son in Pakistan was awarded a life in prison last year by a lower judiciary,the rich landlord used his influence to bribe the lawyers and family of the bereaved and got his son released after a few months. Secondly, the murderers who are sent to prison are still a risk for other prisoners locked up for minor crimes.They have the tendency to do harm to others and will do so whenever given a chance again.We often hear the news of fighting in jail with some folks inflicting fatal injuries to their inmates. Thirdly, the life sentence for the murderer is a source of discontentment for the relatives of the victim. Also, they remain constantly under threat from kin of the jailed individual.They are warned of the consequences if they do not forgive the accused. Moreover, if a killer is given a death sentence, it will discourage other members of community from committing a homicide. For instance, countries like Saudi Arabia where the killers are hanged have a very low rate of murders than other nation-states. To summarize, the fear of death is more than the fear of imprisonment. This helps in discouraging people from committing murders and is beneficial in creating a crime-free society.