Some say it is better to have vertical cities with lots of tall buildings rather than horizontal cities with fewer tall buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

City infrastructure has become the main concern for all metropolitan cities in the world. Many people argue that cities are better with more high-rise buildings rather than low-rise buildings. In my opinion, I strongly disagree as I believe a city covered by many tall buildings will face more complex problems in the environment and society. For the environmental impact, the construction of high-rise buildings is more complex, so it takes more space below the ground to support the construction. The higher the building, the more it consumes the ground space below. This will impact the soil water storage for the long term, which also will lead to the reduction of the soil level. Once the building is constructed, it will be difficult to demolish or even renovate it. The second reason is that the tall building will be able to occupy more people which could lead to a dense population in the city. There are already many examples of how the dense population will impact the social gap and conflict within the city. For example in New York, as the city attracts a lot of workers to move in with its infinity of job opportunities, it also has a high number of criminals. The vertical and horizontal friction among its people is caused by the density of the city. In conclusion, having more high-rise buildings in the city will only lead to harm rather than a good impact. As a long-term effect, it will destroy the land and also create a huge social gap among its citizen.