Nowadays, there is a rapid increase of rubbish amounts all around the world. What are the main causes for it? What can be a solution, in your opinion?

There is a rapid increase in the production of waste all across the globe. In this essay, I will explore the main reasons for this and I will provide practical solutions for the rise in rubbish production. Due to the increasing need for constant consumption, more waste is produced to meet the unending demands of consumers. This means more packaging material is required and because most of the material is unusable afterwards, garbage starts to pile up. For example, people who follow trends would usually get the latest phone even though their current phone is sufficient. This will lead to growth in dump sites for old phones because people want to keep up with the Jones. Furthermore, the increase in cheap unusable materials is beneficial for companies as they can maximize profits. Hence, it is not in the best interest of co-operations to incorporate recyclable materials as this will eat into their profit margin. There are two solutions that can be implemented. Firstly, customers can use products for a longer duration thereby decreasing the demand for products that would end up in a landfill. Secondly, pressure on companies can be exerted to make recyclable items because even if they are discarded, they can prevent the accumulation of garbage. For example, buyers can only purchase items which are environmentally friendly thereby reducing the demand for harmful items. In conclusion, the endless desire to acquire materialistic goods, and the use of harmful packaging are the main causes of landfill. In order to reduce this, customers can make things last and they can exert financial pressure on companies so that they make ethical production choices.