In some countries citizens are allowed to keep a gun in their home. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some countries allow people to keep guns to protect their houses from criminals. That phenomenon leads to both merits and demerits. However, in my opinion, I think the drawbacks outweigh the advantages of using weapons freely. The advantage of keeping guns in your home is being able to help ensure families' safety. Indeed, if your house has a gun, the crimes will not scare you and they do not want to intrude or steal something in your house. For example, in a place with a high crime rate such as Rio De Janeiro in Brazil, having a gun is necessary to protect yourself and avoid some unexpected things that you do not want to happen. Everything I said in the above paragraph just happens when the citizens use weapons in the right way and the crime using knives instead of guns. Do not forget that the number of violent crimes increases when guns are available. Furthermore, guns create violent societies with high murder rates. For example, in the US where guns are available to use by citizens. The result is that a lot of mass shootings in the US cause people's death and usually, individuals committed these crimes that is teenagers who use guns like playing games and do not care about the consequences. So, limiting the number of people who can access firearms and requiring a license to buy guns is the best way to solve their problem. In conclusion, the only reason the authority would permit someone to carry a gun is to ensure the safety of this person. However, the reality is quite contrary and almost just allows people to become criminals.