Scientific developments in farming always bring major benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the years, the human race has made great inventions in all fields and the Department of Farming is no exception. Various new scientific developments have replaced the traditional methods of agriculture. However, these measures are not always beneficial. These new techniques often cause more harm than good to the ecosystem. Firstly, the unhealthy amount of insecticides and pesticides utilised by the farmers is a major problem. Cultivators usually inject their products with harmful chemicals to make the product look more appealing. For instance, a customer at a supermarket will only pick tomatoes which look plump and fresh. This freshness is achieved by injecting an unhealthy quantity of chemical substances into the vegetable which causes great harm to the final consumer. Thus, these advancements are exploited by the agriculturalists for monetary benefit leading to disaster for society. Secondly, the massive production of agricultural goods and equipment is causing vast unemployment. New engineering methods are developed in factories to find substitutes for manual labour. For example, manufacturing units are producing advanced-level agricultural tractors which are not only more efficient but also cheaper than human labour. These tractors harm the environment as they use petroleum-based products and also decrease the number of jobs in the economy. In conclusion, one has to understand that scientific research can not be stopped. However, efforts must be made to weigh the pros and cons of these developments before applying them to the fields. As of today, science is taking an enormous toll on nature. Measures to promote conscious farming need to be introduced and practised on a day-to-day to turn this situation around.