Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is being more common to get international news from the Internet instead of watching them on TV or reading newspapers. This tendency may bring many benefits as well as some drawbacks. However, I think that navigating the Internet allows you to know different points of view as you can compare the information on various websites. In my opinion, the benefits are more important than the negative impacts. To start with, exploring on the Internet different news from different places around the world brings many benefits. For example, it is very common that governments to have some influence over newspapers and TV programs, which lose credibility. Subsequently, you can search on the Internet for different websites to get to know deeply about any specific news, having a better understanding of the facts. Another benefit is the immediacy of the Internet as it is faster than breaking news on TV, and compared to physical newspapers, these ones are the slowest because they get printed daily. On the other hand, Online news also may cause some negative impacts on people. For instance, navigating the Internet could be addictive, and if the person cannot control himself, it could be dangerous for their mental and emotional health. Regarding this, it has been claimed that many people suffer anxiety because of the excessive usage of technological devices. Even if it is to check on the news or to be informed minute by minute of a certain event, this could be potentially risky. Another drawback related to this is that news websites are so well prepared to get your attention that sometimes you can lose your sense of time and think that you spent 10 minutes looking for something when you truly spent 1 hour. This confusion about time could bring many complications for the person. In conclusion, watching the news on TV or reading them in the newspapers is something that will never change, it will not stop existing. However, we cannot deny that searching for news on the Internet is becoming a priority for people, having many benefits but also some drawbacks. In my opinion, I consider that even if the Internet could be a bit addictive for people, I believe that the benefits of having the freedom of checking the news on different sites around the globe are of critical importance. That is why I am certain that the positive aspects outweigh by far the negative ones.