Nowadays, people prefer to shop in supermarkets rather than local stores. What are the reasons behind it? Is it a negative or positive development?

At the present time, a lot of people choose shopping centres over small-scale traders to buy their basic needs primarily because of convenience and a wide variety of products to choose from. A supermarket is a one-stop shop place where all of your everyday needs are readily available. Firstly, because of the fast-paced lifestyle many families have today, buyers would choose to look for necessities in one place rather than going to different stores or centres. In highly urbanized cities for one, supermalls or centres where supermarkets are also located, can be found just a few blocks away from condominiums or even some residential areas. People can go there anytime with the convenience of an air-conditioned facility where goods are free from dirt and stinky smell. Secondly, supermarkets offer a wide variety of products and brands that local markets most often do not have. From fruits and vegetables, toiletries, electronics and gadgets, baby products, home appliances, etc., supermarkets can be equalled to mega shopping centres in that sense. On the other hand, although a one-stop shop can be beneficial to the majority of the population, there are still minorities affected who need to be considered. Mega businesses and investments have a tremendous economic effect on the local market. While most supermarkets and centres sell imported products because of low-cost value and capital with a higher return on investment, some local small-scale businessmen and entrepreneurs are forced to close their businesses due to no patronization or bankruptcy. For instance, when China's products entered the Philippine market in the late 1990s, a lot of shoe-manufacturing businesses in Marikina closed down because of the fact that China can produce in mass and yet can sell footwear at a much lower price. In conclusion, although supermarkets have contributed to ease and convenience, let us not forget the negative economic effect on the local market.