In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There are countries where more people are deciding to live by themselves than they did in the past. I believe that this is a positive development because these people ’s actions are not restricted by housemates, and when people live alone, it helps a country’s economy. When people live alone, they are free from the restrictions imposed by cohabitants. That is to say, they do not have to make compromises when people have different ideas of how a house should be maintained, and it can help them save time by not having to wait for others to finish using appliances or equipment that they need to use. For example, it has recently been reported that people who live on their own suffer far fewer anxiety-related issues than those who share their living space because of the sense of freedom it gives them. A country’s economy will also grow if more people are living alone. This is because these people are no longer sharing bills, and, therefore, more money is being spent. Moreover, to avoid loneliness, these people tend to get out of the house more often and engage in social activities with their friends and family, which results in more spending and aids economic development even further. For instance, in universities across America, students who stay in one-bedroom apartments rarely stay at home during the evenings, but this is not the case for those who live in shared accommodation. In conclusion, I think the increasing trend of people living alone is beneficial as these individuals have freedom from the limitations of sharing accommodation with others, and it creates more spending, which is good for the economy.