Some people think that robots are very important for human future development. Others, however, think that robots are dangerous inventions that could have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Ever since their inception, robots have been a polarizing topic. While the proponents of this technology are adamant that it will prove instrumental to our lives in the future, others say that robots will have adverse implications for human society. In this answer, I will look at the reasoning of both camps before explaining why I side with the former. As the applications of robotics engineering pervade every aspect of life, it is hard to imagine mankind moving forward without it. For one, robots are key to driving economic productivity. Automated machines and processes have dispensed with inconsistent and exhaustible physical toil and ushered in an era of unprecedented output, speed, and precision in manufacturing - a feat that can only be perpetuated with the advancement of robotics technologies. Aside from invigorating production both in terms of quantity and quality, robots will help people take care of tedious daily tasks and free up their time for more enjoyable activities or more important priorities; in fact, machines like robot cleaners and autonomous cars are already starting to make human lives more stress-free. Finally, current medical applications of robots like bionic limbs or robot-assisted surgeries promise that they could help further human longevity. Notwithstanding the aforementioned benefits, some people are still wary of robots, and justifiably so. The most commonly cited threat that robots pose to humans is job losses, as evidenced by how innumerable manufacturing jobs have been eliminated due to automation. In addition to jeopardizing our job security, the convenience of having machines perform various labour-intensive tasks in our stead also inadvertently makes us more sedentary. Another popular argument against robots is the doomsday scenario when machines would eventually outsmart their creators and enslave them. Given the possibility of robots imperilling our livelihood, impairing our health, and imprisoning our kind, it is no wonder that many people say this technology will wreak havoc on future societies. Still, in my opinion, robots are a welcome innovation. Their contributions to human society are unequivocally enormous, and the concerns outlined above are either being addressed by various policies and regulations or, in the case of the doomsday scenario, proven to be far-fetched. All technologies carry a certain degree of risk, but if we had been averse to new inventions, the strides that humanity has made over the last century would never have happened. 389 word by Tung Dang