In many countries there has been an increase in social problems involving teenagers in recent years. Many people believe that this is due to modern lifestyles because parents spend more and more time at work and have less time to supervise their children. To what extent do you believe this is true?

Nowadays, there has been an increase in social problems among teenagers like obesity, criminality or the deficiency of future perspectives which might be due to modern lifestyles. There are arguments supporting this position but in my opinion, there is not enough evidence to significantly justify this thesis. Today, in modern families it is common that both mother and father are working even full-time, hence having less time to supervise their offspring. This might lead to an exacerbation of unhealthy conditions like eating too much junk food evolving into obesity in youngsters, indulging in social media platforms or gaming, and therefore decreasing leisure and sportive activities. In addition, a lack of a supervising role model causes boredom and carelessness which might trigger dangerous challenges or even criminality in youngsters. On the other hand - and I am a strong supporter of this theory - there are different assessments of why these problems came up. The debate points out the negative effects of the head-down generation, future fears caused by climate change, air pollution, wars, and finally the corona pandemic. In addition, so-called “tiger parents” are more likely to raise aimless grown-ups with little self-esteem confirming the negative consequences of over-protection. However, further studies need to reveal the causes of social problems in young adolescents, as a stable and democratic society strongly benefits from its passionate and motivated youth. In my opinion, blaming parents for their modern working life and therefore causing both emotional and physical deprivation in their children does not seem to be sophisticated.