Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is increasingly common to see a person with a phone wherever they are nowadays. The same is with children, who may spend hours on their phones every day. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, and I tend to think it is a negative development. The contributing factors for this case are as follows. Firstly, smartphones today are powerful in functions, and there are many things to do with different apps. Children can watch short videos on apps like Tiktok, do shopping on Amazon, and play games with their friends without meeting them in person. Also, the surrounding environment plays an important role. It is not only children but also adults that are often found on their phones these days. In this case, it may be not that surprising to see a child obsessed with the mobile. Though the smartphone provides many kinds of entertainment for children, the drawbacks of this phenomenon are pretty obvious. Childhood and adolescence are two significant life stages where children can learn and practice various skills useful in their adult life. For example, they can learn to socialize with their peers, study academic subjects and practice after school to familiarize themselves with knowledge and do extracurricular reading to broaden their horizons. However, valuable hours are wasted on mobile phones for entertainment today, and as a result, they do not have time to practise the skills they will need later in life. In conclusion, the powerful functions of smartphones and the negative impacts of adults using them are two major factors for this phenomenon, and their detrimental effects are noteworthy.