Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

These days, the vast majority of individuals are having children at later stages of their life. This essay discusses various reasons behind this mentality and why this practice has more drawbacks than benefits. To begin with, people are having kids at later stages of life due to their personal and professional pursuits. Firstly, young individuals are focused on their careers and are interested to achieve higher positions and status in their life before taking up their family responsibilities. Secondly, the vast majority of young adults believe that their 20s and early 30s should be spent on various pleasure activities like travelling and having a child at a young age will hinder them from doing it. Thus, these are the reasons people choose not to have children at an early age. However, having children at a late age is disadvantageous for both people and society. Studies have shown that women have a higher risk of having miscarriages when they conceive after a certain age. Moreover, in countries where the birth rate is low, there is a shortage of young workforce. For instance, countries like Japan are experiencing a very high shortage of young people as most people marry late and many of them fail to conceive. Also, women who conceive in their late 30s or 40s are more likely to have babies with genetic defects like Down syndrome. In conclusion, people are having children at an advanced age because they want to focus on their careers and achieve financial stability. I believe that this development is largely detrimental to the individuals and the community.