Doing homework should be mandatory because it helps to retain knowledge students have learnt at school. To what extend do you agree?

Educational development has long held a fascinating sway over scientists, psychologists and curious minds all around the world. Although doing homework may appear tedious for some, there is plenty of evidence suggesting that it is key to achieving academic success. This dull activity should be mandatory since it offers broad-based benefits to students. First, if learners don't do homework, they will be more likely to forget what they study, which is also called "the forgetting curve". In fact, research shows that twenty per cent of new knowledge is gone when a student doesn't have a review section the following day. Second, by making homework compulsory, students will prioritize it over frivolous and transient thrills that can leave them astray into a cycle of destructive behaviour. For example, as children are able to ignore homework and have too much free time, they are usually susceptible to game addiction. Another compelling reason to agree with this idea is that it may help lay a strong foundation for children. Doing homework and being disciplined are alike in many ways. In fact, pupils who are not finding doing homework difficult are those who can foray into almost every subject later on. In addition, mandatory homework ensures a student fully comprehends the previous lesson, enabling him or her to apprehend the next one more effectively. For instance, in order to study more complex math formulations, pupils are required to master the basic ones without any confusion. To summarize, there are many benefits of doing homework. In my opinion, it should be compulsory because it is key to developing children.