Many people use social media on regular basis in order to keep in touch with the news and with other people.Do you think that the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, social media has played a huge part in our lives. It is a platform that many people use to stay in touch with other people on a daily basis. However, social media has certain drawbacks too. This essay will explain the pros and cons of social media. One of the major advantages of utilizing social media is connectivity. Social media is a platform that can connect people all over the world without having to worry about time and distance. By leveraging social media, we can share information and build relationships with friends, family, colleagues and even celebrities. It creates a sense of bond amongst each other. Aside from connectivity, social media has been an essential platform for educational purposes. It makes learning easier and more accessible for many people. One-click away and we can acquire the knowledge to perform various tasks simply by following the instructions or tutorials available on social media platforms. Nevertheless, social media has its disadvantages too such as spreading fake news and cyberbullying. It can be challenging to verify the accuracy of information found on social media platforms. The moment a piece of news became viral it spreads like wildfire. Aside from fake news, many people have become a victim of cyberbullying especially when it comes to public figures or celebrities that they despise. They usually create fake accounts just to hate, bully and threaten them which leads to an unhealthy environment in society. In conclusion, social media has a deep impact on everyone's daily lives. Everything depends on how smart we can utilize it. If social media is being used wisely then the amount of benefits we can acquire is unlimited. I believe that the advantages of social media outweigh its drawbacks.